Converting Evernote Wiki Links to Bear Wiki Links

Long story short, I’m moving from Evernote to Bear, but noticed that when I import notes all my Evernote wiki style links between notes just hyperlink back to Evernote once they’ve been imported to Bear.

After a long search I found THIS python code on github. Although I am an absolute beginner when it comes to coding, I was able to utilize some friends expertise and some Bing AI help to modify and simplify the code so that it converts all evernote wiki links to bear wiki links, as well as converting all colored text to color formatted text in an evernote note to markdown highlighted text in bear.

This is all done with a few pretty simple RegEx Substitution commands…

# the re.sub expression below converts evernote wiki links to Bear note wiki links by replacing all evernote:/// links with the actual name of the evernote note wrapped in [[ ]]
     content = re.sub(r'(<a[^>]*?href="evernote[^>]*?>)(.*?)(</a>?)', r"[[\2]]", content)

# the re.sub expression below escapes all "/" found between [[ ]] by replaceing them with "\/" (which is necessary because otherwise Bear creates a new note when the wiki is clicked)
     content = re.sub(r'\[\[[^\]]*\/[^\]]*\]\]', lambda x: x.group().replace('/', '\\/'), content) 

# the re.sub expression below turns ALL colored text into highlighted text in bear by wrapping the text in == * ==
     content = re.sub(r'(<span style="color:rgb[^>]*?>\s*)(.*?)(\s*</span>?)', r"==\2==", content)

I’m sure I’m not the only one with who wants their Evernote wiki links to function as Bear note wiki links and my hope was that this might be something you could include in the bear app importer.

As mentioned in my original post I’m a newb when it comes to coding and am still figuring out how to use git hub, but I’ve included the whole python code below for anyone who want to try it for themselves.

#!/usr/bin/env python3