Using Bear for Book Writing

I wanted to start writing my book in Bear. And I wanted to see who else can relate to this?

Mostly because I am hesitant - I am not sure why. I have never heard that someone was writing a book in Bear, and how it would be Exported when it is ready for publish.

Maybe that could also be a new feature, if there is non of that kind (or I am just not aware of it).

I really enjoy writing in Bear, and I wrote all of my articles in the app. So I was thinking to take it a little bit further and start a big project!

I would be really interested in people’s opinions.

I feel it would be a good step for Bear, anyway.

1 Like

I’m starting to write a series of short stories, but I keep bringing the text back to my laptop. I find the formatting on Bear is not very sophisticated ( of course, I’m relatively new to Bear Pro myself) and I prefer to finalize on the computer. But Bear is handy to write drafts. For the portability alone. Good luck!

2 Likes

I use Bear to journal, including notes/planning on writing projects of all lengths. What I’m looking very much forward to is using Panda for the actual writing, including book-length works — currently done in other Markdown editors.

2 Likes

I understand, completely. Maybe that could be one of the feature requests. Especially now that more and more people use Bear as their Second Brain.

1 Like

I thought of trying using Bear for journaling, and might even start today. Yesterday I have used Panda for the first time, and those were my thoughts exactly - this would be so good for book writing. I might use it first for blog posts, tho.

1 Like

If you keep organized with the nested tags and multi-word tags, it will be exported like this:

Export nested tags

I’d recommend using your book project name as the top-level tag to make exporting easy.